Lincoln Kennedy Honored with NFF Hall of Fame On-Campus Salute During 2015 Apple Cup at Husky Stadium


Lincoln Kennedy Hall of Fame On-Campus Salute at 2015 Apple Cup at Husky Stadium
Lincoln Kennedy on big screen at Husky Stadium during 2015 Apple Cup. Pictured with Todd Lamb V.P., Fidelity Investments, and Walt Hunt, President of Seattle NFF Chapter.

IRVING, Texas (Nov. 25, 2015) – The University of Washington and The National Football Foundation (NFF) & College Hall of Fame announced today that they will jointly honor Lincoln Kennedy with an NFF Hall of Fame On-Campus Salute, presented by Fidelity Investments, on Friday, Nov. 27, in Seattle during the 108th Apple Cup between Washington and Washington State. Coverage of the game will start at 3:30 p.m. ET on FOX.

“I started to shed a tear,” Kennedy said at the January press conference announcing the 2015 Class. “I was stunned. I was surprised. I’m floored to be here with these great players. Those that know me best know that the main reason I played football was to get out of the hood and get an education. I never thought I was that good to be here around these guys.”

The NFF Hall of Fame On-Campus Salute program, which began with the inaugural class in 1951, has become a hallowed tradition, and to this day the singular events remain the first of numerous activities in each inductee’s Hall of Fame experience. During the NFF Hall of Fame On-Campus Salutes, each inductee returns to his alma mater to accept a Hall of Fame plaque that will remain on permanent display at the institution. The events take place on the field during a home game, and many inductees cite the experience as the ultimate capstone to their careers, providing them one more chance to take the field and hear the crowd roar their name.

“Lincoln Kennedy was one of the most dominant offensive linemen of his era,” said NFF President and CEO Steve Hatchell. “He was a member of the greatest football team in school history, leading the Huskies to a perfect 12-0 national championship season in 1991. We are thrilled to honor him in front of the Washington faithful at Husky Stadium.”

A unanimous First Team All-American in 1992, Kennedy led Washington to bowls all four seasons of his career from 1989-92, including three consecutive Rose Bowls. The 1992 First Team All-Pac-10 selection led the Huskies to three consecutive conference titles, and he is one of only three two-time recipients of the Morris Trophy as the best offensive lineman in the Pac-10.

A captain his senior year, Kennedy twice received Washington’s lineman of the year award, and he allowed only two sacks in his four-year career. A 2004 inductee into the University of Washington Husky Hall of Fame, he played for College Football Hall of Fame coach Don James and alongside Hall of Famer Steve Emtman during his time in Seattle.

The ninth overall selection by the Atlanta Falcons in the 1993 NFL Draft, Kennedy spent two seasons in Atlanta and nine seasons with the Oakland Raiders. The San Diego native was a two-time All-Pro selection and three-time Pro Bowler, and he led the Raiders to an appearance in Super Bowl XXXVII.

Kennedy has previously served as an analyst on the NFL Network, and he owned and operated an insurance agency. He has hosted a show on FOX Sports Radio once a week, and he now serves as an analyst for the Pac-12 Networks.

Kennedy becomes the 11th Husky to be inducted, joining Chuck Carroll (1926-28), Steve Emtman (1989-91), Don Heinrich (1949-50, 1952), Vic Markov (1935-37), Hugh McElhenny (1949-51), Rick Redman (1962-64), Bob Schloredt (1958-60), Paul Schwegler (1929-31), Max Starcevich (1934-36) and George Wilson (1923-25). Four coaches with stops in Seattle are in the Hall: Gil Dobie (1908-16), Don James (1975-92), Jim Phelan (1930-41) and Darrell Royal (1956).

Including the 2015 class, only 963 players and 209 coaches have been inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame from the nearly 5.12 million people who have played or coached the game over the past 147 years. In other words, only two ten-thousandths of one percent (.0002) of those who have set foot on the gridiron have earned the distinction.

The 2015 College Football Hall of Fame Class will be officially inducted at the 58th NFF Annual Awards Dinner, held at New York City’s historic Waldorf Astoria Hotel on Tuesday, Dec. 8. This year’s College Football Hall of Fame Class includes: Trev Alberts (Nebraska), Brian Bosworth (Oklahoma), Bob Breunig (Arizona State), Sean Brewer (Millsaps [Miss.]), Ruben Brown (Pittsburgh), Wes Chandler (Florida), Thom Gatewood (Notre Dame), Dick Jauron (Yale), Clinton Jones (Michigan State), Lincoln Kennedy (Washington), the late Rob Lytle (Michigan), Michael Payton (Marshall), Art Still (Kentucky), Zach Thomas (Texas Tech), Ricky Williams (Texas) and coaches Bill Snyder (Kansas State) and Jim Tressel (Youngstown State, Ohio State). For more information, please contact Will Rudd at or by calling 972.556.1000.

The 2015 season marks the sixth season that Fidelity Investments, a leading provider of not-for-profit workplace retirement savings plans to higher education employees, is serving as the national presenting sponsor of the NFF Hall of Fame On-Campus Salutes. The salutes are one component of a multi-year initiative between the two organizations to celebrate the scholar-athlete ideal and a joint commitment to higher education. At the start of the 2014 season, Fidelity became the presenting sponsor of the William V. Campbell Trophy, college football’s premier scholar-athlete award, which will be presented for the 26th time in 2015. Other highlights of the sponsorship include Fidelity becoming the first presenting sponsor of the organization’s prestigious NFF National Scholar-Athlete Awards and helping launch the NFF Faculty Salutes Initiative, which recognizes the contributions of the faculty athletics representatives around the country.

Original story published at



Home | Events | Coaching Academy | Play It Smart | Football Matters to Me | Awards/Scholarships | Hall Of Fame Inductees
Membership | Individual Donation | Booster Club Donation | Who We Are | Past Chapter Presidents | Sponsors | Contact Us

Copyright © 2003-2015 National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame


  • Wholesale Nfl Jerseys Free Shipping
  • cheap nfl jerseys wholesale
  • cheap jerseys wholesale
  • wholesale jerseys
  • cheap jerseys from china
  • cheap jordan 7
  • cheap jordans for sale
  • cheap nike lebron 13
  • cheap lebron soldier 9