2005 Scholar-Athlete Awards Ceremony and Banquet

The 40th Annual Scholar-Athlete Awards Ceremony took place on Sunday, March 5, 2006 on the University of Washington campus. For the past 40 years, our annual banquet has been held to recognize and award scholarships to outstanding local football players who excel on the field, in the classroom and in the community.

This year, approximately 120 scholar-athletes from 60 local high schools were nominated by their coaches. From among these candidates, the eight finalists were selected for recognition at the annual awards ceremony.

Dee Hawkes
Dee Hawkes Accepting
Tony Gasparovich Award

Kevin Kooyman of Tahoma High School and Matt Carmody of Eastside Catholic won the two main awards ($2000 Scholarships each). The other finalists were were awarded a $500 scholarship.

Also at the banquet, the Tony Gasparovich Memorial Coach Award was presented to football author and retired Bothell High School coach Dee Hawkes. This award is presented by the Seattle-King County Chapter to a football supporter who exhibits love and dedication of the game through their principles and leadership with those they work with . A long time football coach and member of this Chapter, Tony Gasparovich embodied these attributes in his life.for his longtime support and dedication to football.

Washington coach Tyrone Willingham was guest speaker for the event. Corky Trewin and Kevin Griffin of the Seattle Seahawks gave additional words of wisdom to the scholar athletes.

Professional pictures of the event can be viewed online at TeamPhotogenic.com, where you can also order prints.

2005 Scholar-Athlete Finalists - Backs

Matt Carmody
Eastside Catholic

John A. Ditore

Matthew H. Glenn

Corey M. Marek

2005 Scholar-Athlete Finalists - Linemen

Michael Dunn

Kevin J. Kooymun

Sean P. Moran

Tianyin Zhu

View Past Scholar-Athlete Award Winners



Home | Events | Coaching Academy | Play It Smart | Football Matters to Me | Awards/Scholarships | Hall Of Fame Inductees
Membership | Individual Donation | Booster Club Donation | Who We Are | Past Chapter Presidents | Sponsors | Contact Us

Copyright © 2003-2015 National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame